Thursday, 3 December 2020

Bangladesh University of Textiles


Bangladesh Textile University (Bangladesh University of Textiles; In summary, 'buteksa' - 'BUTEX') of a leading public engineering university. It is the first and only public university in the country in textile engineering education.

Logo of Bangladesh Textile University.png
MottoKnowledge is power
AcharyaPresident Abdul Hamid
Vice-ChancellorProfessor Engineer Abul Kashem (18 February 2019-present) 
Location92, Shaheed Tajuddin Ahmed Avenue, Tejgaon Industrial Area, Dhaka , 1206, Bangladesh
CampusIn the city center, 11.6 acres
Short nameBUTEX
AffiliationUniversity Grants Commission


In 1921, during the British rule, an institution called 'Weaving School' was started in NarindaDhaka. In the course of time, the institution has become Bangladesh Textile University today It was renamed the East Pakistan Textile Institute in 1950 after the Pakistani government came to power. Later in 1980, the institution was shifted to the present campus of Tejgaon Industrial Area A four-year B.Sc course was introduced here in 1986 and was renamed as 'College of Textile Engineering and Technology' (CTET). Considering the importance of the garment industry in the country's ongoing economy, the bill was passed unanimously in the National Assembly in 2010 when it was proposed to turn the Textile Institute into a university. The 'Bangladesh Textile University Bill' was finally passed on 5 October 2010 with the signature of His Excellency the President, which on 22 December, Effective from 2010. For this, every year December 22 is celebrated as 'Textile University Day'. On March 15, 2011, Hon'ble Prime Minister of the Government of the People's Republic of Bangladesh Sheikh Hasina inaugurated the 'Bangladesh Textile University' (BUTex). At present, Bangladesh Textile University is playing an outstanding role in the development of the garment industry in Bangladesh by developing modern textile engineers.

Educational activities

Currently B.Sc. on nine subjects under three faculties. There is a course in textile engineering, which is divided into eight semesters There are 2 semesters every 6 months every year. The years are usually called levels and the semesters are called terms; In other words, 6 term examinations are done at 4 levels.

  • The faculties and departments are:

FacultyDepartmentNumber of seats
Textile Manufacturing EngineeringYarn Manufacturing Engineering80
Fabrics Manufacturing Engineering80
Industrial Production Engineering40
Textile Machinery Design and Maintenance40
Textile Chemical Process Engineering and Applied ScienceWet processing engineering80
Dyes and chemicalsEngineering40
Environmental Science and Engineering40
Textile Clothing, Fashion Design and Business StudiesApparel Manufacturing Engineering80
Textile Management and Business Studies80
Textile Fashion and Design40

There are also seven textile engineering colleges under Butex which offer four-year BSc Engineering in Textile Engineering degrees. The academic activities of these colleges are conducted according to the Butex syllabus and certificates are issued from Butex. The colleges are completely boutique controlled.

1. Pabna Textile Engineering College 2. Chittagong Textile Engineering College 3. Sheikh Kamal Textile Engineering College, Jhenaidah 4. Shaheed Abdur Rob Serniabat Textile Engineering College 5. Textile Engineering College, Noakhali 6. Dr. MA Wazed Mia Textile Engineering College 6. Bangabandhu Textile Engineering College


Butex is located in Tejgaon Industrial Area, the heart of Dhaka city. The main gate is at the beginning of the entrance.

All of Butex's academic activities are conducted from the academic building. It has all the high quality facilities. Thumb  Academic Building The 15-storey "Bangabandhu Academic Building" is being set up in Butex to make the activities of Butex bigger and more up-to-date. It is the tallest public university building in the whole of Bangladesh. It will provide international standard facilities to the students. Thumb | Bangabandhu Academic Building Campus Area Boutex has Central Playground Thumb | Central Playground also has Thumb | Shaheed Minar Thumb | Butex Student Parliament Thumb | Fountain Thumb | Corridor Boutex Campus is a colorful campus.

Residence halls 

There are four residential halls for student accommodation; There are three halls for boys and one for girls. 'Shaheed Aziz Hall', 'G, M, A, G Osmani Hall' and 'Syed Nazrul Islam Hall' for boys; And for girls there is 'Sheikh Hasina Hall' There are plans to build another new hall called 'Subahan Ali Hall'.

Student organizations 

  1. Bangladesh Islamic Chhatra Sena
  2. Bangladesh Islami Chhatrashibir
  3. Bangladesh Chhatra League
  4. Bangladesh Nationalist Chhatra Dal
  5. Butex Literary Parliament
  6. Butex Business Club 
  7. Bandhan (Voluntary Blood Donor Organization), Butex Branch 
  8. Bauliana
  9. Ekattor Cultural Association
  10. Butex Debating Club
  11. Butex Film Society
  12. Butex Drama Society
  13. Butex Cyclist Circle
  14. Butex Journalists Association
  15. Butex Chess Club
  16. Butex Friendship
  17. Butex Science Club
  18. Butex friendly gathering
  19. Passenger Butex
  20. Butex Computer Club
  21. Young
  22. Butex Literary Parliament
  23. Butex Journalists Association
  24. Butex Apple's Club
  25. Butex Robotics Club
  26. Butex Spinners Club
  27. Butex Programming Club

No comments:

Post a Comment

Bangladesh's 4122 Crore Taka housing project for Freedom Fighters - BD News Net

 The  Bangladesh government will build houses for widows and children of indigent freedom fighters, martyrs and late heroic freedom fighters...